The Church of Saint Joseph was built above the former home and workshop of Saint Joseph, the Earthly father of Jesus and Mary’s husband. Beneath the church is a grotto which was a Roman Era dwelling and had areas for storage and silos. Today there is a chapel in the grotto which is reached by a small staircase. The site has been revered since the Byzantine Era when it was identified as the home of the Holy Family. Since then a Byzantine church, Crusader church (12th century AD) and Franciscan church (1754) have stood on this site. The present church dates back to 1914.